Understanding and Managing Data: Analysis and Interpretation
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This report provides an analysis and interpretation of Understanding and Managing Data, covering topics such as standard deviation, mean, cross-sectional data, time series data, network diagrams, correlation matrix, break-even analysis, and more.
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UNDERSTANDING AND MANAGING DATA
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Table of Contents PART 1............................................................................................................................................4 TASK 1............................................................................................................................................4 (b) Analyse and interpret standard deviation and mean.........................................................4 TASK 2............................................................................................................................................4 (b) State the reason behind mean and standard deviation of grouped data and ungrouped data. Which one is more accurate?..................................................................................................6 (c) Comment on the least amount spent by the customer on the top 25% by the customers.6 TASK 3............................................................................................................................................6 Differentiate between the time series data and cross sectional data according to the lifestyle and demographic profile nature of the customers..................................................................6 TASK4.............................................................................................................................................7 (a) Construct network diagram that shows movement of backward and forward data..........7 (b) Identify critical path and time period of the project.......................................................10 (c) Differentiate between non- critical and critical activities...............................................10 TASK 5..........................................................................................................................................10 (a) Work out the coefficient between total cost and quarterly sales and average order value and gross profit. Make a correlation matrix.........................................................................10 (b) Determine appropriate forecaster of sales and also explain the reason behind it...........11 (c) Draw a scatter diagram and also show a trend of regression equation...........................11 (d) Examine the determination and coefficient of correlation..............................................11 (e) Examine the equation of regression and examine the value...........................................11 TASK 6..........................................................................................................................................12 1. Work out the coefficient of fluctuations for organisation A and B..................................12 2. By Assuming the risk of retailers is negative, name the project which should be selected from the available projects...................................................................................................12 TASK 7..........................................................................................................................................12 Reflective learning gained through the project....................................................................12 PART 2..........................................................................................................................................13 1.Compute variable cost with the help of high-low method...............................................13
b) Calculate monthly fixed cost............................................................................................13 c) Work out break-even of January......................................................................................13 d) minimum number of T-shirt that needs to be sold in order to achieve target..................13 e) Work out margin of safety................................................................................................13 6. Analyse the above computation........................................................................................13 REFERENCES..............................................................................................................................15
PART 1 TASK 1 (a) Compute the sum and variance in excel. Expenditure(£)on Stand Mixers Mean224.00 Standard Error6.58 Median224.00 Mode224.00 Standard Deviation75.00 Sample Variance5625.00 Kurtosis-0.49 Skewness-0.32 Range301.00 Minimum68.00 Maximum369.00 Sum29120.00 Count130.00 Coefficient of Variation33.5% (b) Analyse and interpret standard deviation and mean. The above data states that the central average of the data is 224 and 75 is the standard deviation. Standard deviation states the difference of the observation from the mean. In the following case its highly fluctuated from the mean(Cauley, 2021). TASK 2 (a) Make table in excel and attach it in the report by including the value given. Table 1
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Expenditure (£)Frequency Frequency (%) Under 1001411% 100andunder 2003527% 200andunder 3006550% 300 and over1612% Total:130100% Table 2 Expenditure (£)Frequency Cumulative Frequency CumulativeFrequency (%) Under 100141411% Under 200354938% Under 3006511488% Under 40016130100% Total:130 Table 3 Expenditure (£) Frequency (f) midpoin t (x)fx(x-mean)(x-mean)2f(x-mean)2 Under 1001449.5693 - 163.8461538 26845.5621 3375837.8698 100andunder 20035149.55232.5 - 63.84615385 4076.33136 1142671.5976 200andunder 30065249.5 16217. 536.15384615 1307.10059 284961.53846 300 and over16349.55592136.153846218537.8698296605.9172
2 Total:13027735 - 55.38461538 50766.8639 1900076.9231 Mean 213.346153 8 Variance 390.514337 7 Standard Deviation 19.7614356 2 (b) State the reason behind mean and standard deviation of grouped data and ungrouped data. Which one is more accurate? Mean is 214 and standard deviation is 20 of the grouped data. Though mean of ungrouped data is 224 and standard deviation of the ungrouped data is 75. It can be seen that the deviation in the ungrouped data is quite big because of the inaccuracy of the data. The difference is mainly because of the functions and raw data which was used in the process. The data which is present in the group data is accurate as functions are performed with pre adjusted data(Ferraris and et.al., 2018). (c) Comment on the least amount spent by the customer on the top 25% by the customers. The amount needed by the customer in order to spend on the top 25% which is 250. TASK 3 Differentiate between the time series data and cross sectional data according to the lifestyle and demographic profile nature of the customers. Cross Sectional DataTime series Data It basically focus on observing the numerous factors at a particular period of time. Itgenerallyreferstotheobservationsof various different individual such as objects, It mainly focuses on the factors which during a period of time. It generally tracks set of data from a sample of data over a period of time. Time can be divided
subjects at a particular period of time(Jabbour, and et.al., 2019). Mostofcrosssectionalisinformof quantitative which includes collecting of data with the help of questionnaires, interviews, etc. For example, Sales performed by the business by selling products during the period of an year. into parts and compared with the variance and mean of each of the group. This method is used for forecasting of data withthehelpofmachinelearning.The forecasting provided by this method is just near to the accurate. Forinstance,revenueearnedbythe organisation in the period of last 3 year(Kerns, 2022). Retailers prefers to use cross sectional data technique because it considers various data from the lifestyle preferences, demographic conditions and also considers various factors. Therefore, It helps in determining the various factors which influence the preference of the data. TASK4 (a) Construct network diagram that shows movement of backward and forward data.
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(b) Identify critical path and time period of the project. A-C-E-I-J is the critical path for the provided data which signifies of 23 weeks. Project's duration is 10. (c) Differentiate between non- critical and critical activities. 1.The activities whose duration is pre defined are termed as critical activities. In this case if any of the activities are delayed then the time period of the project increased accordingly. On the other hand, activities that does not have an time allotted at the starting of the project are completed these projects are completed according to work allotted(Khalid, 2020). TASK 5 (a) Work out the coefficient between total cost and quarterly sales and average order value and gross profit. Make a correlation matrix. Coefficient of correlationCoefficient of determination Sales Revenue and total costs (Quarterly) 0.540.29 Sales Revenue and Average0.970.95
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order value (Quarterly) SalesRevenueandgross profit (Quarterly) 0.420.18 (b) Determine appropriate forecaster of sales and also explain the reason behind it. The predictor that should be used to measure the coefficient of the quarterly sales with 0.97 and average order value. Highly co-related data is the highest correlation coefficient of the following observations. (c) Draw a scatter diagram and also show a trend of regression equation. (d) Examine the determination and coefficient of correlation. Coefficient of correlation demonstrates linkage among the factors linked to each other. On the other hand, it determination depicts approx. 95.00% of the regression model of the data provided(Montealegre and Iyengar, 2021). (e) Examine the equation of regression and examine the value. Regression mathematical represents is Y = 0.03120X + 10.267
Coefficient s Standar d Errort Stat P- valueLower 95% Upper 95% Lower 95.0% Upper 95.0% Interce pt9.822.084.738.175.5414.115.5414.11 Sales Revenu e0.03 0.00149 721.015.780.030.030.030.03 TASK 6 1. Work out the coefficient of fluctuations for organisation A and B. Venture A: Coefficient of variation = (Standard Deviation / Net EV) * 100 % = (30. 08 / 47. 0) * 100 =64 Venture B: Coefficient of variation = (Standard Deviation / Net EV) * 100 % = (13.32 / 41.2) * 100 =32.33 2. By Assuming the risk of retailers is negative, name the project which should be selected from the available projects. Project B should be considered by the retailer for making investment in the projects because low coefficient variations states low level of variations from the mean calculated(Zhang and et.al., 2018). TASK 7 Reflective learning gained through the project. By completing the above project, it helps in developing various skills. It describes the overall scenario and financial authority which will help in my professional career. This project will help in improving the productivity and knowledge. It caused trouble in matching the number, I will focus on learning the formulas that will ultimately help in making calculations
easier. It also helped understanding the functions of excel and advanced excel. It also helped in knowing how to interpret data. It helped me in knowing the practical implication of data(Naik and et.al., 2021). PART 2 1.Compute variable cost with the help of high-low method. Variable Cost per unit = (Highest Activity Cost - Lowest Activity Cost) / (Highest Activity Units - Lowest Activity Units) =(4,00,000 - 1,95000) / (34,000 - 14000) = 205000 / 20000 =10.25 b) Calculate monthly fixed cost. Fixed Costs = Highest Activity Cost - (Variable Cost Per Unit * Highest Activity Units) = 4,00,000 - (10.25 * 34,000) =51500 c) Work out break-even of January. Units sold in January to reach break-even = Fixed cost / (Selling price – Variable cost) = 51500 / (12.72– 10.25) =20850 d) minimum number of T-shirt that needs to be sold in order to achieve target. Current Sales level for achieving target = (Estimated Profit + Fixed Costs) / (Selling price per Unit- Variable cost per unit) =(60000 + 56200) / (12.72– 10.25) = 116200 / 2.9 =47044.53 units e) Work out margin of safety. Margin of safety = (Current Sales Level – break-even point) / Current Sales level = (47045 – 20850) / 47045 = (26195 / 47045) * 100 =55.68% 6. Analyse the above computation. (a) The number of sales should be increased to at least 19380 in order to achieve break- even point. It is approx. the same number of amount of sale as of the average of the firm.
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(b) In order to achieve the target of £200000, the organisation have to sell minimum of 88345 units in an year(Ong and et.al., 2021). (c) Margin of safety in percentage is 78.06% on the number of units sold during the year. (d) Disadvantages of break even-point analysis: Data credibility is assured by the quality of the computation. The relation between variable cost and sales is not ascertained. (e) The high – method helps in calculating the fixed cost and variable cost by only the number of units and total cost of the project. This method use the highest and lowest units from all the data available. (f) Variable cost of the observation is calculated in terms of per unit and fixed cost is calculated in terms of amount. Fixed cost of the following is £56200 and variable cost per unit is £9.56. That is included in the final cost of the product produced and sold in the market(Zárate and et.al., 2020).
REFERENCES Books and Journals Cauley, M.R., 2021. Person in Process of Practice: Between helping and managing helping. InAcademy of Management Proceedings(Vol. 2021, No. 1, p. 13550). Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510: Academy of Management. Ferraris, A.,and et.al., 2018. Big data analytics capabilities and knowledge management: impact on firm performance.Management Decision. Jabbour, C.J.C., and et.al.,.2019. Unlocking the circular economy through new business models based on large-scale data: an integrative framework and research agenda.Technological Forecasting and Social Change,144, pp.546-552. Kerns, C.D., 2022. Managing Leader Identity at Work: A Practice-Oriented Approach.Journal of Leadership, Accountability and Ethics,19(1), pp.1-20. Khalid, S., 2020.Exploring the impact of bespoke business strategies on managing risks in PakistaniSMEswithinsportsgoodsindustry(Doctoraldissertation,Abertay University). Montealegre, R. and Iyengar, K., 2021. Managing digital business platforms: A continued exercise in balancing renewal and refinement.Business Horizons,64(1), pp.51-59. Naik,R.andet.al.,2021,June.ManagingFlowInducedVibrationinSubseaJumpers. InInternationalConferenceonOffshoreMechanicsandArcticEngineering(Vol. 85147, p. V004T04A018). American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Ong,K.Y.Andet.al.,2021.ManagingasthmaintheCOVID-19pandemicandcurrent recommendationsfromprofessionalbodies:areview.JournalofAsthma,58(11), pp.1536-1543. Zárate, M. and et.al., 2020. BiGe-Onto: an ontology-based system for managing biodiversity and biogeography data.Applied Ontology,15(4), pp.411-437. Zhang, K. and et.al., 2018. Confronting challenges of managing degraded lake ecosystems in the Anthropocene, exemplified from the Yangtze River Basin in China.Anthropocene,24, pp.30-39.