BSBADV507 Media Plan: iPhone X - Target Audience and Media Selection

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Homework Assignment
AI Summary
This assignment provides a comprehensive media plan for the iPhone X, focusing on reaching the target market of youths and the working class. It analyzes product market factors, creative and merchandising requirements, and budgetary considerations. The plan details media selection, scheduling, and evaluation methods, including the use of the PDCA cycle for continuous improvement. The assignment also addresses legal and ethical requirements in advertising, emphasizing the importance of avoiding discrimination. Media alternatives, such as television and internet advertising, are considered, with a focus on maximizing reach and frequency while adhering to ethical principles. This student contributed assignment is available on Desklib, where you can find similar solved assignments and past papers.
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Running head: DIPLOMA OF BUSINESS ADMINISTARTION 1
Diploma of Business Administration
Name:
Institution
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Activity 1A
a) The product to be sold is iPhone X
b) The target audience is the mass population.
c) The audience characteristic is that they are continuously looking for high-speed phones.
d) The consumer profile is based on demographics, behavioral, and psychographic factors.
e) Statistical data obtained from the internet indicate that iPhone is ranked among the best
brand.
f) The message should contain the product’s quality, its effectiveness, and extra benefits
attained. The information is obtained from the product’s website.
Steps Example
1. Place message in appropriate
medium
Television and Internet
2. Represent the media audience
within media
The graphics used should be
appealing
3. Include objects and activities
enjoyed by each profile
Concentrating on the features
4. Include topics and subjects that
will appeal to each profile
The phone has high quality
camera
5. Use themes or background music
appropriate for the genre of each
profile
Playing iPhone music in the
background
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6. Think of the comfort of each
audience which they can relate
to
The environment should reflect
the camera’s ability to take
clear pictures.
7. Make sure that you address the
correct attitudes appropriate for
each profile
The image should clearly
reflect on the phone’s slim
nature.
8. Make sure that you appeal to the
desires of each profile.
The image should as well be
unique in displaying its
features.
Activity 1B
a) The product is convenient because it is of high quality with relatively and is positioned as
having gig storage and it is fast.
b) The customers have a low level of involvement because the customer searches for the best
solution to their needs.
c) The frequency of advertisement should be maximum to expose the product to the customer
while the number of reach is expected to be high through the advertisement medium.
Activity 1C
a) A creative brief aims at providing a team information regarding the client, the target
market, as well as the audience.
b) Requirements include an action, color, physical and electronic form, fast productive
time, and intrusive medium. Color is used to convey a particular information. Thus it is
important that the designer of an advertisement is aware the impact of different colors. I would
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Diploma of Business Administration 4
use it when developing posters (Malthouse, Qiu & Xu, 2012). Physical and electronic form
involves the use of billboards to advertise or using press advertising. I would use these to reach a
large audience. Also, the action involves advertising to encourage purchase such as through
email. This would be used when reaching a specific audience.
Activity 1D
a) An advertising brief includes the message which is paid for to be delivered through a
mass medium aimed at persuading the customers while the merchandise requirements include
association with a media vehicle to deliver the message.
b) In developing media requirements for Lenovo computer, the media suitable are
newspapers, billboards, and television.
The use of billboards enhances repeated client exposure, involves low cost, limits
creativity, and less audience selectivity. The newspapers are timeliness and cover a large local
market (Ly, Vickers & Fernandez, 2015). Television cover a large mass, low-cost exposure, and
appeals to the senses as well as makes use of sound, motion, and sight hence the preferred
primary media.
Activity 1E
a) When allocating a budget a person should consider the product’s lifecycle, market
share, the competitors, and direct effect of advertising on media budget.
b) Allocating an advert on adults’ makeup into a children’s television slot is not ethical
because the viewers are children and they do not need to be exposed to such information.
Activity 2A
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a) Some of the media alternatives and their merits include cable and satellite use
methods such as Static Foyer. Some of its merits are: it gives an opportunity to trial products and
it uses high recall techniques. Second is the direct response that necessitates a direct response
between the viewer and the advertiser (Dilger & Müller, 2013). It is cost effective compared to
direct sales, low set up cost, and finding the right people is easy. Last is a point of sale which
attracts customers at checkouts. It is beneficial in persuading shoppers to purchase more and
enables the retailer to influence the customer.
b) Changing trend would greatly impact on the media vehicles’ viability (Laguador,
2013). As the world adopts the internet, most of the activities such as marketing and selling will
be done online. Thus, some of the media vehicles would not be viable.
Activity 2B
a) Testing the media vehicle helps determine the return on investment.
b) Remember that sales have an impact on advertising.
c) Consumer jury test involves the consumers from different areas judging the
advertisements. Also, the direct mail test is usually done through mail and is more reliable since
it depends on orders placed.
Activity 2C
Target Market Media Why?
Teen make-up Internet Teens use internet
frequently
Colgate Toothpaste Television Involves motion,
sight, and sound
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Fructus Shampoo Radio Reaches a large mass
Computer Billboards Attracts attention
a) If customer attrition has happened in the computer products, the marketer should ensure that
they deliver their promise.
b) The available option is to use multi-step campaigns.
Activity 2D
a) Gross Rating Profit (GRP) is applied in measuring the number of audiences that is reached
by a particular media vehicle.
b) The level of frequency for the new suit is high.
c) It is not possible to reach customers at 100%.
d) The three points in reach are sales, service opportunities, and packaging.
e) Three points in ads are connectedness where advertising emphasizes on empathy such as in
buying milk (Berthon, Pitt, Plangger & Shapiro, 2012). Second is appropriateness helps in
evaluating the advertisement’s level of creativity such as toothpaste. Last is novelty which
involves unique advertisements such as TVs.
Activity 2E
a) The legal and ethical requirements of the media should be understood.
b) The anti-discrimination law is a challenge in advertising because the content advertised
should not indicate the intention to discriminate.
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c) Advertising ethics are the principles that govern how communication is conducted between
seller and buyer.
Activity 3A
Timing Product
Continuous advertising Toothpaste
Pre-launch advertising Cars
Pre-sales advertising Phones
Seasonal advertising Balloons
Activity 3B
iPhone X. The product is seasonal. The working class and youths are targeted. The
product is new. Offer a large campaign (Pham, Segers & Gijselaers, 2013). Advertise according
to the available budget. Avoid discrimination. The best media for advertising is the internet and
television.
Activity 3C
a) The iPhone X is advertised in the afternoon and at night for 30 seconds, 5 times a day.
b) Advertisement placement is the time an advertisement is placed to reach the client.
c) Advertisement length is the duration the advertisement will take.
Activity 3D
Media schedule of iPhone X targeting the youths and the working class.
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Publication Jan Feb Mar Apr May Total
Trade Mag $1,500 $1,500 $1,500 $4,500
Television $6,000 $6,000 $6,000 $6,000 $24,000
Mag $500 $500 $500 $1,500
Total #
Impressions
$6,500 $7,500 $6,500 $1,500 $8,000 $30,000
Activity 3E
a) Plan- inability to reach iPhone X potential clients due to scheduling.
b) Do- request for reschedule of the advertisements for night hours
c) Check- determine if more customers are being reached
d) Act- retaining the advertisement to night hours
Activity 4A
Online
display
Location Cost
placement
Ad size Monthly
Imp
Total
cost
CPM
Television Evening Rate/Ad Rating Imps (000s) CPP CPM
Internet TI No of clicks Click rate
(%)
Average
CPC
Total
cost
CPM
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Activity 4B
a) Television is effective in reaching a large mass while the internet is essential to market
especially to the youths.
b) CPP= $250,000/6.3= $39,682.54
Gross Impression=23000*6.3/100=144.9
C) CPM=$250,000/144.9*1000=$1,725,327.81
Activity 4C
a) Pay per click budgeting is the best since it allows placement of ads on websites.
Activity 4D
a) Using awareness measurement in IPhone is since it can be made using aided and unaided
brand awareness.
b) Media audience measurement determines the number of responses.
c) Opinion measurements help in testing the product.
d) Recall measurement helps in determining customer’s recall of the iPhone.
Skills and Knowledge Activity
The product is iPhone X. the purpose of advertising is to reach target market aimed at
increasing market share. The target group is the youths and the working class who have high
living standards (De Vries, Gensler, & Leeflang, 2012). The smartphone has a high market share
and is performing well. The competitors are LG, Sony and Samsung smartphones. The
competitors have a similar market share. The internet is effective to reach the market since most
people have access to it. The media effectively marketed the product hence increasing the market
share. It took 6 months to effectively market the product (De Meyer, 2013). The previous
advertising method has low cost, high selectivity, and enhanced interactive capacity. It is desired
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that the product should be attractive to the customers and easily recalled. The product’s unique
selling position is based on its speed. The customers will benefit by having fast access to the
internet and big storage of data.
Major Activity
1) Smartphone
2) The youths aged 20-30 years. The audience has high demand for smartphones, they
frequently access the internet, and they look for phones with high speed and large storage.
3) The consumer profile is dependent on their preference, lifestyle, attribute, trait, and stage of
life.
4) Television
5) Product’s cultural association
6) Some of the requirements include longer and more profitable space requirements. Such as in
the television.
7) Broadcast media, new media, and internet advertising.
8) The budget will depend on frequency of advertising and the business size.
9) Codes of practice and ethical principles.
10) Television. Past performance reveals if the media vehicle which was used before meets the
needs.
11) Searching for information from some marketing companies to identify the best media
vehicle and set a test market.
12) The target market is reached through advertisements displayed in the evening.
13) The media should reach maximum number of clients and it should portray connectedness,
appropriateness, and novelty.
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14) The media used in advertising should not demonstrate desire to discriminate.
15) The smartphone is advertised in the afternoon and at night for 30 seconds, 5 times a day.
16) Consider time and date of the advertisement.
17) The flight option strategy is used to improve the media due to seasonal advertisement.
18) Not to their satisfaction. Improve the time and dates of advertisement.
19) Flight scheduling. It is cost-effective.
20) PDCA cycle. Repeating this cycle facilitates improvement.
21)
Online
display
Location Cost
placement
Ad size Monthly
Imp
Total
cost
CPM
Television Evening Rate/Ad Rating Imps (000s) CPP CPM
Internet TI No of clicks Click rate
(%)
Average
CPC
Total
cost
CPM
22) Television reaches a large mass while the internet is effective since most people are
usually logged to the internet.
23) Pay per click will work since it improves the positioning of a product.
24) Using awareness measurement.
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References
Berthon, P. R., Pitt, L. F., Plangger, K., & Shapiro, D. (2012). Marketing meets Web 2.0, social
media, and creative consumers: Implications for international marketing
strategy. Business horizons, 55(3), 261-271.
De Meyer, A. (2013). The future of doctoral education in business administration. Journal of
Management Development, 32(5), 477-486.
De Vries, L., Gensler, S., & Leeflang, P. S. (2012). Popularity of brand posts on brand fan pages:
An investigation of the effects of social media marketing. Journal of interactive
marketing, 26(2), 83-91.
Dilger, A., & Müller, H. (2013). A citation-based ranking of German-speaking researchers in
business administration with data of Google Scholar. European Journal of Higher
Education, 3(2), 140-150.
Laguador, J. M. (2013). A correlation study of personal entrepreneurial competency and the
academic performance in operations management of business administration
students. International Journal of Academic Research in Business and Social
Sciences, 3(5), 61.
Ly, C. T. M., Vickers, M. H., & Fernandez, S. (2015). Master of business administration (MBA)
student outcomes in Vietnam: graduate student insights from a qualitative
study. Education+ Training, 57(1), 88-107.
Malthouse, E. C., Qiu, D., & Xu, J. (2012). Optimal selection of media vehicles using customer
databases. Expert Systems with Applications, 39(17), 13035-13045.
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Diploma of Business Administration 13
Pham, N. T., Segers, M. S., & Gijselaers, W. H. (2013). Effects of work environment on transfer
of training: empirical evidence from Master of Business Administration programs in
Vietnam. International Journal of Training and Development, 17(1), 1-19.
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