This document provides an overview of international marketing and sales strategies, focusing on the expansion of PureGym to the international market of Los Angeles, USA. It includes information on value proposition, key findings, marketing objectives, strategic planning, traditional and digital marketing tactics, and more.
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International Marketing and Sales
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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY International marketing is an opportunity for businesses to expand their operations across national boundaries to grab new opportunities and serve large amount of general public. In this project PureGym is expanding its operations in international market of Los Angelus, USA. In this relation a marketing plan will be developed through which value proposition of stakeholders will be made. Key findings for internal strengths and weakness will be identified so that generated issues can be resolved positively. A justified marketing objective will be established so that with strategic marketing plan to achieve all goals more appropriately. Digital marketing practices will be used so that action plan can be taken. Ethics and sustainability important will be introduced by controlling and monitoring business operations so that risk and challenges can be identified and for minimising their effect in future appropriate actions are taken.
Table of Contents EXECUTIVE SUMMARY.............................................................................................................2 INTRODUCTION...........................................................................................................................1 TASK 1............................................................................................................................................1 1.1 The Value Proposition...........................................................................................................1 1.2 Key findings facing the organisation....................................................................................3 1.3 Set and justify Marketing Objectives....................................................................................5 1.4 Strategic Marketing Planning................................................................................................6 1.5 Traditional and Digital Marketing Tactics............................................................................7 1.6 Action Plan, Budgets and Financials....................................................................................9 1.7 Ethics, Sustainability and CSR...........................................................................................12 1.8 Controls, Measurement, Review, Risks and Contingencies...............................................13 TASK 2..........................................................................................................................................14 CONCLUSION..............................................................................................................................16 REFERENCES..............................................................................................................................17
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INTRODUCTION International marketing is defined as application of all marketing principles and activities in such manner so that large number of consumers can be satisfied at international level. Through international marketing sale of goods and services can be operated in more then one nation. Through this huge market opportunity is created for businesses to serve large number of consumers and then earn more and more amount of profits by being competitive. In this project report international expansion of PureGym will be described. PureGym Limited is a chain of no frills health clubs in United Kingdom(Bennett and Rabiei, 2019). It was founded in the year 2009 by Peter Roberts. PureGym is located at more then 200 locations and possess 1 million members in their gym. In this project report a marketing plan for PureGym will be elaborated to expanded its business to internation market ofLos Angeles, USA. Together with this a upscale marketing model for the organisation is designed in this project report. TASK 1 1.1 The Value Proposition Value proposition is termed as a specific value that will be delivered to an individual who is involvedin business activities. While operating a business there are number of stakeholders related to business and value proposition determines the value which business will contribute towards each stakeholder. Stakeholder for PureGym organisation are consumers, government, athletes, sponsorships, healthcare organisations and companies that create technical items. As PureGym is planning for international expansion to Los Angelus in USA and to find value of this expansion for different stakeholders Mendelow’s matrix will be used(Mendelow’s matrix, 2017). Mendelow’s matrix is a tool used by an organisation to identify and consider attitude of their stakeholders when a new project is initiated or a strategic objective is established for business. This matrix was introduced in the year 1991 and suggest that stakeholders group is analysed based on power and interest they possess in relation to business organisation. Power and interest of each stakeholder differs. For example- in relation to PureGym founder possess more power and high interest, whereas government possess high power but less interest. In this relation mapping of stakeholders are important through which high power and high interest 1
stakeholders will be considered important and managed closely.Action plan for PureGym organisation is as follows- High power, highly interested people - Manage Closely High power, less interested people - Keep Satisfied Low power, highly interested people - Keep Informed Low power, less interested people - Monitor Source:Mendelow’s matrix, 2017 PureGym in order to gain comparative advantage needs to usePorter’s Value Chainso that methods to improve competitive advantage can be identified. Micheal Porter in 1985 explains value chain analysis as a collection of activities that are performed by a company to create value for its consumers(Porter’s Value Chain,2019). As per this model in order to enhance competitive advantage a organisation needs to provided more ad more value to its consumers. As per this concept there are nine steps involved in process to generate final product form a raw material and at each step some value needs to be created to enhance value to 2 Illustration1: Mendelow’s matrix, 2017
consumers. As fitness industry require organisations that provide value to services and PureGym will satisfy this criteria will help to generate competitive advantage in market of Los Angelus while expanding globally. Source:Porter’s Value Chain. 2019 1.2 Key findings facing the organisation In the process of expanding to international markets PureGym needs to identify its internal strengths and weaknesses so that while expansion they can be used as a tool to become more competitive. In this relation SWOT analysis will be performed as follows- Strengths: Services provided by PureGym is cost effective as they charge an average of £20 per month which is quite minimum in the industry and this serves as strength in national market and will help while expanding internationally(Bianchi and Mathews, 2016). Online registration and other additional services like group classes attracts more amount of consumers. Concentration on creating value for their consumers serves as a strength while expanding business to international markets. Weaknesses: 3 Illustration2: Porter’s Value Chain, 2019
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Availability of some luxury services are not their in the gym due to its affordable pricing structure and this may leads to non competitiveness to some area in US market. Under-staffing and poor training staff can detract consumers experience and may leads organisation to become non competitive in international markets. Opportunities: Increasing health conscious population over USA market will help in grabbing good market share(Classen and Friedli, 2019). Satisfying demands of the consumer group in USA which is still unsatisfied will serve as an opportunity to generate considerable market share at international level. Threats: Increased amount of competition in the market is a threat for PureGym to get success while expanding to global level. Lack of facilities, staff turnover and unsatisfied consumers will become threat for PureGym to establish in Los Angelus market. Expanding internationally services provided by PureGym will leads to generation of some amount of issues that needs to be considered and resolved so that no hindrance is created. Some of the issues are as follows- Government regulations:As PureGym deals in fitness industry and while operating its business in international market will imply compliance with health and safety regulations and licensing requirement in that countries. In USA laws in relation to health and safety is quite complicated and it becomes hard for businesses to get government permission to have access to fitness market. This is one of the major issue while expanding in Los Angelus(Efrat, Gilboa and Yonatany, 2017). Non personalised services:As business model of PureGym organisation involves minimum number of employee staff. This can become an issue while expanding in US market as people in fitness industry prefer personalised experience. Lack of personal services will generate unsatisfied consumers to PureGym. Lack of funding:Funds are very important part for a business expansion and as PureGym is performing well in UK market does not mean that sponsors and investors will provide funds for this expansion. As high amount of competition is their in a fitness industry and availability of proper-finance can not be managed for such expansion. 4
Unsatisfied demand:As to make fitness services affordable PureGym offers only basic facilities to its consumers. This situation can create a issue of unsatisfied consumers as they demands more and more from these fitness centres. 1.3 Set and justify Marketing Objectives Marketing objectives are goals set by business when promoting its products or services to potential consumers that needs to be achieved in the specific time period(Gillespie, 2015). Objectives are the strategies set in order to achieve the overall organisational objectives. Aim of marketing is to offering goods and services to consumers that will meet the needs of the consumers and leads to generation of more and more amount of sales revenue. PureGym while expanding to US will form a SMART marketing objective. SMART marketing objective will be specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and timely. Specific:All the details in relation to international marketing by PureGym needs to be present in detailed form. All the opportunities and threats, activities to perform and goals to be achieved are clearly defined to make it understanding. Measurable:Objectives that are set by PureGym needs to be measurable in qualitative and quantitative terms. This means a specific number of sales target by the organisation to be achieved while makes comparison easy to achieve. Achievable:Goals and objectives of marketing by PureGym needs to be formed in such manner so that they can become achievable. For example- PureGym targets to generate 50000 members in USA at the end of its 1 year. Realistic:Marketing objectives designed by PureGym organisation must be based on current business situation and as per business climate prevailing in the fitness industry. As goals generating market share of 15% in three years is a realistic target of PureGym organisation. Timely:A objective become more specific and achievable when deadline is provided to the marketing objectives(Hohenberg and Homburg, 2016). PureGym organisation has stipulated strategic timescale is three years while the tactical time frame is 12 months and all the activities will be reviewed after that. Aim and objectives of PureGym is to provide affordable and flexible membership to high quality gym services to all who wants to increase their level of fitness. Together with this a group strategy is created to continue to roll out new gyms with high returns on capital as well as drive the operational and financial performance of its existing gym estate. SMART objective in 5
relation to marketing while expanding globally is linked to organisations corporate objectives. This will help to generate more and more revenue for organisation by operating new branches all over the nation. PureGym work on the strategy to grab market through serving low cost services which will make this business cost effective. A competitive advantage will be received through serving low cost and consumer value services that will eventually leads to grab more and more amount of market share(Järvinen and Taiminen, 2016). 1.4 Strategic Marketing Planning Segmentation is a marketing strategy of dividing a market of potential customers into groups or segments which are based on different characteristics. Segmentation of a market base for defining targeted consumers are performed in terms of geographic, demographic, psycho- graphic and behavioural characteristics. The two major segmentation strategies followed by marketing organisations are concentration strategy and multi-segment strategy. PureGym follows multi-segment strategy of segmentation through which focus of marketing effectors are made on different market segments. As while expanding to Los Angelus targeted segment for fitness services is selected on the basis of aspiration and on income level of targeted consumers that are available in a particular geographical area. Targeted audience is a group of individuals who are selected to be offered services in Los Angelus by PureGym limited. In UAS targeted consumers were all the individuals in the middle age. Together with this consumers who are focusing on garbing cost effective fitness services will also be termed as a target market consumers. These are selected as targeted consumers because mostly fitness services are acquired by consumers who belongs to middle age group. As in the fitness industry there are huge amount of consumers who are interested in acquiring cost effective services(Katsikea, Theodosiou and Makri, 2019). Positioning is a marketing concept that outlines what a business should do to market its product or services to its consumers. In the process of positioning marketing department creates an image for the product offered. A positioning strategy is used by businesses in which one or two important areas are selected to concentrate and achievements are made in those areas. PureGym deals with positioning strategy as 24 hours service with managing membership online. Free classes with extensive range of exercise equipments. 6
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PureGym enjoy competitive advantage over huge amount of competition in the fitness industry due to its cost effective business model. As value charged form consumers for amount of services provided to them when worth the money paid then it leads to attract more and more amount of consumers. Cost effective services to large number of consumer group leads to generation of more and more amount of profits and will generate an advantageagainst competitors(Rosson and Ford, 2016). 1.5 Traditional and Digital Marketing Tactics In the process of marketing PureGym as per its traditional marketing tactics uses marketing mix. Through this set of actions that a business organisation uses to promote its brand in the market. Traditionally their was 4 marketing P's but in the present time there are 8 marketing P's that are described as follows- Price:The prices offered by PureGym to its consumers depends on membership plan. As organisation is focused on providing cost effective fitness services so pocket friendly prices offered to targeted consumer group to beat competition effectively. Promotion:In the process of promotion managers of marketing department specifically targets health and fitness magazines, TV shows and newspaper columns. This helps to attarct potential consumers in the fitness industry. Produce:Product offered by PureGym is fitness services. In order to attarct more and more amount of consumers essential services are available in the gym such as cardio machines, weights etc. Place:PureGym is located in the UK and follows all the government policies prevailing their in the industry. As it is targeted to be expanded in US market then it must be situated where consumers cab easily access its services and must follow al the regulations prevailing their (Rouziès and Onyemah, 2018). Physical Evidence:Proofs in relation to success of a marketing plan needs to be acquired. As PureGym provides excellent services to its clients and did not suffered any issue. Financial crises due to appropriate fund management must be considered for effective marketing. People:These are the targeted consumers to whom all the services are offered and who will put to consume services provided by PureGym. Targeted costumers are people form each geographical area to take cost effective fitness services. 7
Process:The process refers to how services offered by PureGym is delivered to its consumers. As number of staff in the gym is minimum so more concentration is made on self services. Partnership:It is a marketing through which PureGym can expand its operation to other non covered areas. Also through partnership internation expansion will become much easier and cost effective on the same time. Introduction of digital tactical plan made the marketing mix different which was used in businesses as traditional marketing plan. Digital tactical plan of PureGym is as follows- Price:As business is expanded in international market and it requires to increase number of services offered. This will leads to regulate prices. Effective pricing will be promoted through effective advertisement on website to attract more consumers(Rundh, 2016). Promotion:In the process of promotion digital technology must be used through making promotions on social media and over various digital platform to attract huge amount of consumers. Produce:When expanding its business to international market then a new product of online services can be offered. In which a app is designed to guide individuals at home to perform fitness activities anywhere. Place:Generating an application through digital technology will enhance marketing place of PureGym as they can provide services to consumer without geographical boundaries in USA and other market. Physical Evidence:Introduction of digital technology will leads to generation of more evidence to PureGym as consumers will have more accessibility to provide their opinion regarding level of satisfaction form services. People:Targeted Consumers when business is expanded to international markets will increase and through digital technology their will be not boundary to access services. Process:Digitaltechnologymadeitsimpletheprocessofserviceprovidingas registration and information regarding number of services can be provided through website and advertisement on social media. Partnership:Partnering with a organisation that possessmore and more amount of access to digital technology will help PureGym organisation to operate more efficiently. 8
1.6 Action Plan, Budgets and Financials A action plan is a strategy that will be designed by PureGym organisation while expanding to international market to defines activities to perform and time consumption of each activity. This will be reflected through Gantt chart which represents timeline that is used in a project management tool to illustrate how project will be run. This is important and useful in terms of planning and scheduling project of expansion in international markets(Saarinen, 2019). 9
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Payback Period:It is the time a investment required to generate amount equal to initial investment made for the same. Length of time required to generate initial investment of a project is minimum then it will be appropriate investment. Payback period for PureGym is as follows- Payback Period Time Cash flow CumulativeCash Flow £'m£'m 0(500)(500) 16 0 (440) 2112(328) 3148(180) 41800 5224224 Assuming that the cash flows occur evenly, payback period will be 4 years. Return on Investment:It is a relationship between investment and net profit generated over a period of time. It is a key performance indicator for PureGym business as profitability form expansion to US market will be analysed. Set targets of revenue generations will be evaluated and any variation will be minimised with appropriate steps(Vaid, Ahearne and Krause, 2019). Return on investment= Average annual net profit from investment / Average investment *100 Targeted Return on investment is 10%. YearCash flow 160 2112 3148 11
4180 5224 724 Average annual profits = 724- 500 / 5 years = £44.8m Average asset value= 500/2= 250 Return on investment= 44.8/250*100 = 18% Break-even point:It is a point where total cost and total sales revenue of business is equal. It is a point where business organisation do not earn any profits or do not incur any loss. At the initial stage of expansion in US market achieving break-even is essential for survival. ParticularsAmount Sales£6,00,000.00 (-) variable cost-£4,20,000.00 Contribution£1,80,000.00 (-) Fixed cost-£1,80,000.00 BEP£0.00 Break even point in units = (180000+236000)/ 26 Ans.16000 Break even point in Pounds =40x16000 Ans.640000 12
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P/V Ratio = (Contribution Margin per unit/ Sales Price per unit)*10065 BEP from P/V Ratio640000 1.7 Ethics, Sustainability and CSR Ethical problems can occurs at fitness clubs when personal boundaries between staff and clients are not respected. One of the ethical issue for PureGym is to make business practices in ethical manner. As fundamental responsibility for being truthful to clients needs to be made and criminal and illegal activities should be avoided. Supplements for fitness industry is a million dollar industry in United States. A trainer before guiding an individual for these supplements must consider to a dietitian to act in ethical manner(Vellas,2016). Trainer and clients in gym must have professional boundaries so that a ethical environment can be maintained. Client confidentiality needs to be maintained as per law and ethical code practices in fitness industry. In order to sustain in the competitive market fitness industry must fulfil their Corporate social responsibility. For this a contribution needs to be made for social welfare. Recommendation for ethical practices are as- Following strict ethical compliances in the organisation. Any breach must be taken seriously to avoid it in future. Professional code of ethics must be introduced so that each person must act in their ethical boundaries and good environment can be maintained in premises. 1.8 Controls, Measurement, Review, Risks and Contingencies Critical Success Factor:It is a management term which is important to achieve organisational mission. Accomplishing this factor is important for achieving success. For example- effective consumer relationship is a key success factor for PureGym Key Performance Indicators:These are quantifiable measurement tool that are used to evaluate organisational success for meeting objectives for performance(Yang and Gabrielsson, 2017). Number of consumer retention and market share are important performance indicator for PureGym. 13
Agreeing Marketing Metrics:These are the measurable values that are used by marketing teams to demonstrate the effectiveness of a campaigns across all marketing channels. Consumer acquisition cost will be a marketing matrices for PureGym. Risks and Contingencies: Risk of change in government policies in fitness industry in US market. Contingencies to generate more amount of competition then it was expected in plan. Risk of unfavourable conditions that leads to more cost for business establishment in US market. TASK 2 Uppsala model is considered as one of effective theory that illustrates internationalisation procedures of business enterprises. In other words, the model describes the ways companies learn addition to impacts of learnings faced by organisations. It explains how institutions intensify their activities together with investments in international market. Uppsala model is considered as an independent model with the application to which an organisation follows sequential steps towards direction of enhancing foreign dedication. The model comprises four steps to enter within international market that are not viewed independently of pertaining busienss's situation, market as well as market knowledge. The steps through which the client company that is PureGym can enter into international market are the followings: 14
Illustration3: Stages of Uppsala Model. 2019 (Source: Stages of Uppsala Model. 2019) No regular export activities: Herein, companies generally do not export its activities of regular basis in the international market. In context to PureGym, the managers could go international through exporting their key products on irregular basis in US market. Exporting through independent representatives: In this step, companies exports their products or services with the help of independent representatives that have full control on resources and knowledge about market. In regards to PureGym, in this step, the company by making effective relationships with various independent representatives that are successfully established in the market of US can export its key activities in international market(Stages of Uppsala Model, 2019). 15
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Establishmentofforeignsubsidiary:Inthis,companiesestablishestheirown subsidiaries in the foreign market so to attract more customer base and gain market shares. In order to go international, PureGym managers could establish a subsidiary in the market of US and could make brand image against competitors. Foreignmanufacturing:Throughthis,companiesbeginstheirmanufacturingor production practices in the foreign market so to satisfy needs of the international population and with this they successfully makes position within the area they performs workings. From the all, PureGym can proceed its activities to expand in international market that is in Los Angeles, US by opting establishing their own subsidiary. Prior to this, it is essential for them to gain complete knowledge about market and commitments. The model benefits entities in gaining experiences by working in domestic market prior to entering as well as developing initiatives to expand in foreign market. With the help of this model, PureGym can emphases towards sequential development for activities to promote the entity in international market and makes effective commitments. In addition, the model enhances market knowledge of the company that further leads in enhancement of market commitment for the international market. In contrary, it only has one limitation which is that it is generally a risk averse method which encourages business nurturing only in familiar environment. By considering overall concept of the Uppsala Model, it can be said that it is one of reliable method that PureGym can use for planning as well as establishing stable entity for gaining maximum success within internal business environment of US. CONCLUSION From the above project report it has been concluded that international markets brings more amount of opportunities for business. In order to become successful stakeholders of business needs to be satisfied with their needs and wants. Value of consumers needs to be enhanced in order to make them more satisfied. Strengths and weakness of a business needs to be identified so make it more effective while expanding to international markets. Marketing objectives must be SMART so that they can be achieved effectively. Market segmentation, positioning are important to generate competitive advantage. A effective marketing mix will be established so that expansion in international market is benefited through digital technology. A well defined action plan with ethical practices in PureGym will generate certainty of success. 16
Control, measurement and review is useful to review risk and take actions to perform as per plans. 17
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