Marketing Strategy for iPhone X: Targeting Youths and Working Class
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Added on  2023/06/11
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This article discusses the marketing strategy for iPhone X, targeting the youths and working class. It includes the target audience, consumer profile, media alternatives, budget allocation, and ethical considerations.
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Running head: DIPLOMA OF BUSINESS ADMINISTARTION1 Diploma of Business Administration Name: Institution
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Diploma of Business Administration2 Activity 1A a)The product to be sold is iPhone X b)The target audience is the mass population. c)The audience characteristic is that they are continuously looking for high-speed phones. d)The consumer profile is based on demographics, behavioral, and psychographic factors. e)Statistical data obtained from the internet indicate that iPhone is ranked among the best brand. f)The message should contain the product’s quality, its effectiveness, and extra benefits attained. The information is obtained from the product’s website. StepsExample 1.Place message in appropriate medium Television and Internet 2.Represent the media audience within media The graphics used should be appealing 3.Include objects and activities enjoyed by each profile Concentrating on the features 4.Include topics and subjects that will appeal to each profile The phone has high quality camera 5.Use themes or background music appropriate for the genre of each profile Playing iPhone music in the background
Diploma of Business Administration3 6.Think of the comfort of each audience which they can relate to The environment should reflect the camera’s ability to take clear pictures. 7.Make sure that you address the correct attitudes appropriate for each profile The image should clearly reflect on the phone’s slim nature. 8.Make sure that you appeal to the desires of each profile. The image should as well be unique in displaying its features. Activity 1B a)The product is convenient because it is of high quality with relatively and is positioned as having gig storage and it is fast. b)The customers have a low level of involvement because the customer searches for the best solution to their needs. c)The frequency of advertisement should be maximum to expose the product to the customer while the number of reach is expected to be high through the advertisement medium. Activity 1C a)A creative brief aims at providing a team information regarding the client, the target market, as well as the audience. b)Requirements include an action, color, physical and electronic form, fast productive time, and intrusive medium. Color is used to convey a particular information. Thus it is important that the designer of an advertisement is aware the impact of different colors. I would
Diploma of Business Administration4 use it when developing posters (Malthouse, Qiu & Xu, 2012). Physical and electronic form involves the use of billboards to advertise or using press advertising. I would use these to reach a large audience. Also, the action involves advertising to encourage purchase such as through email. This would be used when reaching a specific audience. Activity 1D a)An advertising brief includes the message which is paid for to be delivered through a mass medium aimed at persuading the customers while the merchandise requirements include association with a media vehicle to deliver the message. b)In developing media requirements for Lenovo computer, the media suitable are newspapers, billboards, and television. The use of billboards enhances repeated client exposure, involves low cost, limits creativity, and less audience selectivity. The newspapers are timeliness and cover a large local market (Ly, Vickers & Fernandez, 2015). Television cover a large mass, low-cost exposure, and appeals to the senses as well as makes use of sound, motion, and sight hence the preferred primary media. Activity 1E a)When allocating a budget a person should consider the product’s lifecycle, market share, the competitors, and direct effect of advertising on media budget. b)Allocating an advert on adults’ makeup into a children’s television slot is not ethical because the viewers are children and they do not need to be exposed to such information. Activity 2A
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Diploma of Business Administration5 a)Some of the media alternatives and their merits include cable and satellite use methods such as Static Foyer. Some of its merits are: it gives an opportunity to trial products and it uses high recall techniques. Second is the direct response that necessitates a direct response between the viewer and the advertiser (Dilger & Müller, 2013). It is cost effective compared to direct sales, low set up cost, and finding the right people is easy. Last is a point of sale which attracts customers at checkouts. It is beneficial in persuading shoppers to purchase more and enables the retailer to influence the customer. b)Changing trend would greatly impact on the media vehicles’ viability (Laguador, 2013). As the world adopts the internet, most of the activities such as marketing and selling will be done online. Thus, some of the media vehicles would not be viable. Activity 2B a)Testing the media vehicle helps determine the return on investment. b)Remember that sales have an impact on advertising. c)Consumer jury test involves the consumers from different areas judging the advertisements. Also, the direct mail test is usually done through mail and is more reliable since it depends on orders placed. Activity 2C Target MarketMediaWhy? Teen make-upInternetTeens use internet frequently Colgate ToothpasteTelevisionInvolves motion, sight, and sound
Diploma of Business Administration6 Fructus ShampooRadioReaches a large mass ComputerBillboardsAttracts attention a)If customer attrition has happened in the computer products, the marketer should ensure that they deliver their promise. b)The available option is to use multi-step campaigns. Activity 2D a)Gross Rating Profit (GRP) is applied in measuring the number of audiences that is reached by a particular media vehicle. b)The level of frequency for the new suit is high. c)It is not possible to reach customers at 100%. d)The three points in reach are sales, service opportunities, and packaging. e)Three points in ads are connectedness where advertising emphasizes on empathy such as in buying milk (Berthon, Pitt, Plangger & Shapiro, 2012). Second is appropriateness helps in evaluating the advertisement’s level of creativity such as toothpaste. Last is novelty which involves unique advertisements such as TVs. Activity 2E a)The legal and ethical requirements of the media should be understood. b)The anti-discrimination law is a challenge in advertising because the content advertised should not indicate the intention to discriminate.
Diploma of Business Administration7 c)Advertising ethics are the principles that govern how communication is conducted between seller and buyer. Activity 3A TimingProduct Continuous advertisingToothpaste Pre-launch advertisingCars Pre-sales advertisingPhones Seasonal advertisingBalloons Activity 3B iPhone X. The product is seasonal. The working class and youths are targeted. The product is new. Offer a large campaign (Pham, Segers & Gijselaers, 2013). Advertise according to the available budget. Avoid discrimination. The best media for advertising is the internet and television. Activity 3C a)The iPhone X is advertised in the afternoon and at night for 30 seconds, 5 times a day. b)Advertisement placement is the time an advertisement is placed to reach the client. c)Advertisement length is the duration the advertisement will take. Activity 3D Media schedule of iPhone X targeting the youths and the working class.
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Diploma of Business Administration8 PublicationJanFebMarAprMayTotal Trade Mag$1,500$1,500$1,500$4,500 Television$6,000$6,000$6,000$6,000$24,000 Mag$500$500$500$1,500 Total # Impressions $6,500$7,500$6,500$1,500$8,000$30,000 Activity 3E a)Plan- inability to reach iPhone X potential clients due to scheduling. b)Do- request for reschedule of the advertisements for night hours c)Check- determine if more customers are being reached d)Act- retaining the advertisement to night hours Activity 4A Online display LocationCost placement Ad sizeMonthly Imp Total cost CPM TelevisionEveningRate/AdRatingImps (000s)CPPCPM InternetTINo of clicksClick rate (%) Average CPC Total cost CPM
Diploma of Business Administration9 Activity 4B a)Television is effective in reaching a large mass while the internet is essential to market especially to the youths. b)CPP= $250,000/6.3= $39,682.54 Gross Impression=23000*6.3/100=144.9 C) CPM=$250,000/144.9*1000=$1,725,327.81 Activity 4C a)Pay per click budgeting is the best since it allows placement of ads on websites. Activity 4D a)Using awareness measurement in IPhone is since it can be made using aided and unaided brand awareness. b)Media audience measurement determines the number of responses. c)Opinion measurements help in testing the product. d)Recall measurement helps in determining customer’s recall of the iPhone. Skills and Knowledge Activity The product is iPhone X. the purpose of advertising is to reach target market aimed at increasing market share. The target group is the youths and the working class who have high living standards (De Vries, Gensler, & Leeflang, 2012). The smartphone has a high market share and is performing well. The competitors are LG, Sony and Samsung smartphones. The competitors have a similar market share. The internet is effective to reach the market since most people have access to it. The media effectively marketed the product hence increasing the market share. It took 6 months to effectively market the product (De Meyer, 2013). The previous advertising method has low cost, high selectivity, and enhanced interactive capacity. It is desired
Diploma of Business Administration10 that the product should be attractive to the customers and easily recalled. The product’s unique selling position is based on its speed. The customers will benefit by having fast access to the internet and big storage of data. Major Activity 1)Smartphone 2)The youths aged 20-30 years. The audience has high demand for smartphones, they frequently access the internet, and they look for phones with high speed and large storage. 3)The consumer profile is dependent on their preference, lifestyle, attribute, trait, and stage of life. 4)Television 5)Product’s cultural association 6)Some of the requirements include longer and more profitable space requirements. Such as in the television. 7)Broadcast media, new media, and internet advertising. 8)The budget will depend on frequency of advertising and the business size. 9)Codes of practice and ethical principles. 10)Television. Past performance reveals if the media vehicle which was used before meets the needs. 11)Searching for information from some marketing companies to identify the best media vehicle and set a test market. 12)The target market is reached through advertisements displayed in the evening. 13)The media should reach maximum number of clients and it should portray connectedness, appropriateness, and novelty.
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Diploma of Business Administration11 14)The media used in advertising should not demonstrate desire to discriminate. 15)The smartphone is advertised in the afternoon and at night for 30 seconds, 5 times a day. 16)Consider time and date of the advertisement. 17)The flight option strategy is used to improve the media due to seasonal advertisement. 18)Not to their satisfaction. Improve the time and dates of advertisement. 19)Flight scheduling. It is cost-effective. 20)PDCA cycle. Repeating this cycle facilitates improvement. 21) Online display LocationCost placement Ad sizeMonthly Imp Total cost CPM TelevisionEveningRate/AdRatingImps (000s)CPPCPM InternetTINo of clicksClick rate (%) Average CPC Total cost CPM 22)Television reaches a large mass while the internet is effective since most people are usually logged to the internet. 23)Pay per click will work since it improves the positioning of a product. 24)Using awareness measurement.
Diploma of Business Administration12 References Berthon, P. R., Pitt, L. F., Plangger, K., & Shapiro, D. (2012). Marketing meets Web 2.0, social media, and creative consumers: Implications for international marketing strategy.Business horizons,55(3), 261-271. De Meyer, A. (2013). The future of doctoral education in business administration.Journal of Management Development,32(5), 477-486. De Vries, L., Gensler, S., & Leeflang, P. S. (2012). Popularity of brand posts on brand fan pages: An investigation of the effects of social media marketing.Journal of interactive marketing,26(2), 83-91. Dilger, A., & Müller, H. (2013). A citation-based ranking of German-speaking researchers in business administration with data of Google Scholar.European Journal of Higher Education,3(2), 140-150. Laguador, J. M. (2013). A correlation study of personal entrepreneurial competency and the academic performance in operations management of business administration students.International Journal of Academic Research in Business and Social Sciences,3(5), 61. Ly, C. T. M., Vickers, M. H., & Fernandez, S. (2015). Master of business administration (MBA) student outcomes in Vietnam: graduate student insights from a qualitative study.Education+ Training,57(1), 88-107. Malthouse, E. C., Qiu, D., & Xu, J. (2012). Optimal selection of media vehicles using customer databases.Expert Systems with Applications,39(17), 13035-13045.
Diploma of Business Administration13 Pham, N. T., Segers, M. S., & Gijselaers, W. H. (2013). Effects of work environment on transfer of training: empirical evidence from Master of Business Administration programs in Vietnam.International Journal of Training and Development,17(1), 1-19.